The Reporting tab provides reports for IPAM, Peering, DNS, Activity, Resources, and DHCP.
To view reports for a module (IPAM, Peering, DNS, Activity, and Resources), click on the applicable sub-tab button at the top of the page, or select it from the Reporting Tab dropdown menu.
Reporting Overview
The Reporting tab contains reports for five modules - IPAM, Peering, DNS, Activity (Logs), Resources, and DHCP.
Default reports are available for each module sub-tab, and users may create their own customized report from the existing templates. Once created, reports may be exported on-demand, or have exports scheduled to be sent to a user at regular intervals.
Reporting Features
-
Fifteen default system reports for IPAM, Peering, DNS, Activity, Resources, and DHCP
-
Customizable user-created reports
-
IPAM Utilization, Runout, and Peering Status charts
-
Export reports to .csv and/or pdf
-
Schedule reports to be emailed at selected intervals
-
Safely view existing reports and apply filters without overwriting saved report settings, or chose to permanently save changes.
-
Copy existing reports to use as editable templates
-
IPAM reports include integration with IPAM metacolumn data and IPAM Column settings
Report Ownership, Permissions, and Coordination
Reports and User Permissions
Admin level users ("Admin" permissions on TLR) may view all data in all reports, as well as perform report actions such as creating, editing, copying, and deleting reports if the "Reporting Permissions Override" setting is selected in Admin Preferences.
Non-admin / Limited permission users may view reports, but will only be shown the reports and data/modules for which they have permissions to view.
Non-Admin users may not create new reports, or edit, copy, or delete system reports or reports created by other users.
Report Ownership
Default reports will display with "System" as the owner, and may be viewed and copied by all users with access to the report, but are not deletable. Admin level users may edit default reports.
User-created reports will display with the creator's username in the owner field, and are able viewed and copied by anyone who has view permissions for that report, but only the report owner (and global admins) may edit / delete user created reports.
Reports may be hidden to other users by setting the report permissions to "private" or "custom", with the caveat that global admin users may override set permissions on reports.
Report Permissions
A Report Permissions module is available under report actions, allowing the user to set view permissions to one of the following:
-
Public: Any user may view the report
-
Private: Only the report owner can view the report
-
Custom:
-
Share with Users: Only the specified users may view the report.
-
Share with Groups (Admin only): Only the users in the selected group(s) may view the report.
-
To set custom permissions, select the radio button for "Custom" and select either user(s) or group(s) to share with via the dropdowns. Be sure to click "Save" before exiting.
The Report Permissions module only affects report view permissions. It does not give access to edit / delete actions beyond what the user's permissions typically allow (non-admin level users will not gain "Edit" access, for example).
In addition to the selected Report Permissions settings, viewable report data is also subject to the permissions level of the User Group of the current user, and any admin-level viewing restrictions for specific data (such as log-based reports).
Global Admin Permissions Override
Global Admins may view all reports, even those with Private or Custom settings, by enabling the "Reporting Permissions Override" in the Admin section Application Settings module.
Coordination & Best Practices
Although it is possible for global admin users to edit and save default reports as well as those created by other users, it is recommended to either coordinate the changes with the report's owner, or to create a new copy of the existing report to use for modifications.
Report Editing Etiquette
You may view existing reports at any time, including freely adjusting and applying filters on a temporary basis (by selecting filters → clicking Apply) as well as immediately export those results, without overwriting the existing report filter settings.
However, saving new filter settings to an existing report (by applying the new filters -> Gear Icon → Save) permanently overwrites the report's default filter settings.
Before saving changes to an existing report, it is recommended to perform some basic due diligence:
-
If you are not the report's owner, confirm the report edit with the report owner prior to saving
-
If there is a user listed as receiving scheduled exports of that report under Schedule Report Settings, verify that the report change will not negatively impact the planned use of the scheduled report(s).
Best Practices:
-
Use the report Copy function whenever you are unsure of ownership or scheduled report repercussions
-
If you only need a one-time export, temporarily adjust the filters on a default or existing report, and use the "Export to .csv/pdf" button
-
Use the report's description field to communicate details, status, and restrictions to other users (such as "Do not edit - Report used for monthly status comparisons by Bob")
Available Reports
For more information on performing specific tasks in reporting, see: